Baked Chicken Chimichangas Recipe

These baked chicken chimichangas are a super easy and delicious freezer meal you can also make and eat right away!
4.91304347826087 star
  1. 1 star
  2. 2 star
  3. 3 star
  4. 4 star
  5. 5 star
(46)
  • Ready in: 35 minutes
  • Prep time: 10 minutes
  • Chill/Cook time: 25 minutes
  • By:
  • Servings: 6-8

print recipe

ingredients

  • 1½ cups diced cooked chicken
  • 1 1/3 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • ½ - 1 Tbsp. Chipotle Seasoning
  • 8 (8-inch) whole wheat tortillas
  • Plain Greek yogurt (optional)
  • Sliced green onions (optional)

cooking methods

  • Bake

directions

Assembly instructions: Combine chicken, cheese, Corn, Black Bean Salsa and Chipotle Seasoning. Spoon 1/3 cup of mixture in the center of each tortilla. Fold in sides and roll up from the bottom. Wrap each tortilla in waxed paper and place in gallon resealable freezer bag. Seal well, label and freeze.

Cooking instructions: Thaw completely. Preheat oven to 350°. Remove from wax paper and place seam side down on greased baking sheet and spray top of tortillas with non-stick cooking spray; bake uncovered for 25 minutes. Garnish with plain Greek yogurt and sliced green onions, if desired. Makes 6-8 servings.

have a delicious recipe to share?

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chicken chimiyummmmmgas My family loves his quick easy and shhhh healthy meal. This is so simple and quick to make especially on those hectic nights with activities Definitely a repeat meal at our house
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Delicious These were so easy to make my sons actually made them! Everyone gave them two thumbs up!
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Easy This was a quick and easy recipe that my whole family liked.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy, convenient, and Delicious! I made these into a freezer meal. When I made them, I took them out at noon to thaw, put them on a cookie sheet at dinner time and baked them for 25 minutes and dinner was ready! The hardest part was getting some fruit cut up before the chimi's were ready! And they were a big hit with my family!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unreal - so good! Best chimis around! Man these were great - the corn and black bean salsa from TS can not be matched anywhere!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yummy! My family loved this recipe! It was so easy to prep and put togehter and it taste delicious!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chimmies = delicious I love the Corn & black bean salsa and this recipe couldn't be easier or tastier!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy & Super Easy These were so easy to make and even the kids liked them!
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ChaMazing Changa This was a hit for our household. Kids ate it up and wanted more. Always a good sign when there aren't leftovers!
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty chimichangas! These chimichangas tasted great - very flavorful! They were a tad too spicy for the family, so next time I will only use 1/2 Tbsp of the Chipotle Seasoning.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chicken Chimichangas Not only did we bake some of these, but set aside some of the ingredients to make soft shell tacos. That was also very good and fast. Tasty and oh so easy.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So delicous and easy! I searched this for guests and they thought it was so delicious. I prepared the meat and everything else beforehand - and it was ready in no time at all!
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! These chimichangas definitely give mexican restaraunts a run for their money. They were so good...and so easy. Plus, I really liked that they were baked instead of fried. They had the perfect amount of seasoning and were full flavor.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Simple Chimi's! The whole family likes these Chimi's and the Corn Black Bean Salsa adds so many flavors! So good my friends, so good!
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and good! I loved that I could easily prep these ahead of time and freeze! The recipe made quite a few so I now have left overs in the freezer for a VERY quick meal! Love that you can do them on the grill as well wrapped in tin foil. This recipe is a 10 in my book!
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be easier I couldn't believe how easy these were to make! And absolutely delicious! I'll definitely make again and add some olives and fresh peppers from the garden. This will be a staple recipe!
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spicy and Tasty! We substituted in fish and just rolled them up and didn't bake and the flavors were still amazing. Love this recipe and the Chipotle Seasoning....Awesome!
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great crispy burrito Great dish, the kids really enjoyed the extra crunchy tortilla shell.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple & Delicious! This recipe was so simple yet so flavorful and even the kids loved them! Will be making this again!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, delicous, and wholesome this was a hit! I made this for the first time and was a bit skeptical since I hadn't tasted the corn, black bean salsa or the chipolte seasoning but it was great! The greek yogurt and whole wheat tortilla's made it a wholesome meal for my husband and I who fought over the leftovers!
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first chimichanga but not my last I've never had a chimichanga before, let alone made one so when my fiancé chose this as one of the meals he'd like us to prepare for the 10MealChallenge I was a bit worried. I should not have been...it was so darn easy and according to him very good. His one critique was that I should have added more salt.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chimis! I added 4 oz cream cheese to the cheese mix for a little extra sauciness!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'd make these again! I LOVE Tastefully Simple's Corn, Black Bean Salsa and when I saw this recipe had a whole jar - sign me up! They had a little heat to them, so for kids I might cut back the amount of Chipotle Seasoning, but overall really good and so SIMPLE!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make and very tasty This was a very easy recipe to prepare. We all loved it. We added rice and beans as a side for a great meal
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baked Chicken Chimichangas - Very Yummy Easy and delicious. Can't beat that! Added a tish more seasoning for an extra kick. Will definately be making this again
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baked Chicken Chimichangas - Awesome The Baked Chicken Chimichangas were so easy to make and tasted delicious! My family loved them and I will definitely be making them again!
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loves this recipe! These are very easy to make and delicious! I added a little more chipotle for a little more kick, was just right!
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM! Rave reviews from my family not too spicy...easy to make...4 thumbs up. Definitely on the make it again list
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easiest Chimichanga recipe I have ever made! Simple, easy to assemble, with readily available ingredients. I used sour cream in place of the greek yogurt.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Chimichangas I made these for myself and the great part is I used the freezer meal method to keep half for another day. Baked the other half and had some for dinner and leftovers in the refrigerator. Easy and great tasting -- not too spicey which I liked.
Date published: 2015-07-20
  • y_2022, m_7, d_3, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_606b48f8b4e945fca485d4fd1ff9e7e8, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tastefullysimple
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 218ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT